Potty training……

I embarked on the great parenting adventure that is potty training  now that H is 22 months. It was all her she came back from nursery talking how her and her friends all did a poo in the potty. We have had potties in our house for 6 months. She sits on it every morning and just before bath time. She’s only done wees, so imagine my surprise 24th January hearing about her new adventure. So I then decided I might as well let her lead…

Started researching from the 25th January, I looked into classes, could not make the classes. So decided to research online, buy a book and talk to friends. They all told me similar things to do and not to. So I decided to put togther a tool kit for others.

Tool kit

  • Patience – Not one of my strong points, as H had been showing some signs of readiness and it seemed like the right time.
  • Equip yourself with a lot of spare pants, 2 home potty- upstairs, downstairs and travel potty.
  • Toddler-sized toilet seat adaptor – H loves hers.
  • Be consistent –  once you start there is no going back
  • I used incentives like chocolate buttons, fingers & iPad ( not for everyone, it worked for me)
  • Toddler pants featuring H favourite disney character
  • Toddler toilet wipes Preferably flushable ones, as this can be a messy old business…
  • A sticker chart next to the loo to motivate your toddler. When the chart’s full, H gets a lovely treat – so far she’s had baking session with mummy, a doll and a her face painted.

Hanna_Potty

I confess,  I almost gave up on the 3rd day. The 1st day was a breeze, second day we had 2 wee accidents while playing. The 3rd day almost broke me, it was one wee accident after another, poo was done in the loo. She got claps, a song and 2 chocolate buttons then it was down hill. I  Seriously started to question whether I had misjudged her readiness in a fit of blinkered mother love. 4th day one accident just before lunch. 5th day no accident, 6th and 7th day 2 small accidents. We have good and ok days. Am going to stick with it, it’s definitely been character building for me. A month on and we still have accidents, I use pull ups at night and for day outs.

I’m not sure what you will think of our adventure,  we’d probably get the feedback that I should have done more. We’re not 100% there yet, but I’m pretty pleased with the progress we’ve made.  Well done H.  Mummy is SO proud of you xxx
2 thoughts on “Potty training……

  1. My boy is a little older but this is also where we are now. Every time he cuts a tooth the potty training has to stop, which has slowed the process down, almost unbearably!
    Like you it’s training pants for out and night pants for bed, he will still forget to wee if he is too busy playing! Always poos in his potty and hasn’t pooped out of the house since he was 5 months.

    The short of it is I completely empathise, congratulations on your training so far!

    • Thanks Lisa, I just feel it’s been 3 steps forward 2 back. You are right when they are playing they don’t want to stop. We need to hang in there it will click soon:)

Leave a Reply

